Baby It’s Cold Outside! Crocheted Neckwarmer Tutorial

I have been on a crocheting frenzy the last week or so.  I love that I can do it any time and anywhere.  I came up with a design for an ultra warm and thick neckwarmer/cowl.  I made a bunch of them to put up in my etsy shop!  I can’t tell you how much I love these things!  They are so cozy and so soft!

* I just started a flickr group for any projects made using my tutorials.  Please feel free to stop by and post your finished or WIP! :)

And for all of you do-it-yourselfers (that is exactly what I am) here is the pattern.  It is for PERSONAL USE ONLY.  No selling of neckwarmers made from this pattern and no selling or re-distributing the pattern.  Thank you 🙂

Really Chunky Neckwarmer

items needed:

  • Lion brand Thick And Quick yarn
  • size N crochet hook (9mm)
  • large yarn needle

There really is no gauge for this pattern, just make it to fit you! 🙂

  1. ch. 48-50 and join with slip stitch
  2. ch 2. Double Crochet in each stitch around.  Join with slip stitch
  3. ch 2.  Double Crochet in front and back post alternately.  Around.  Join with slip stitch
  4. Continue row 3 until desired height is reached (I do about 10 rows)
  5. ch 1.  Single crochet in back loops around.  Join with slip stitch
  6. Fasten off and weave in ends.

That’s it!  Easy as pie 🙂  Enjoy!  And if you do make one I would love to see the end result!

10 Responses to “Baby It’s Cold Outside! Crocheted Neckwarmer Tutorial”


  1. 1 emmy January 1, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    um..i want one..a green one…please?

  2. 2 eliza January 3, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    HOW do you find time to do ANYTHING besides feed your baby and do laundry? seriously. tell me your trick.

  3. 3 pinklamb February 13, 2010 at 3:01 am

    I love the purple color – what kind of yarn did you use? I couldnt find that color in the LB Wool Ease Thick & Quick. Thanks! 🙂

  4. 7 Mafe November 9, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    It’s preeeeeeeetty!
    I love simple designs that turn out to be incredible, you have great taste!

  5. 9 Jen January 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Hi there! Just wanted to let you know that I really liked your pattern and posted about my finished project on my blog! Thanks again!!

    http://theheronfamily.blogspot.com/2012/01/playing-hooky.html

  6. 10 Liz October 22, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Love this pattern…I hope it will fit a man. My dad has terrible arthritis in his neck and the cold weather makes it worse. I am going to try and make this for him for Christmas.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,565 other subscribers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style