Accessorize – Baby Felt Bow Headband Tutorial

Whew!  It has been such a fun and full week!  My lovely parents came to visit all the way from Utah and left today, many tears were shed 😦  While they were here I worked with my Mom pumping out tons of goodies for my only sister who is due with her first baby girl this winter.  One thing that is a must in my book is little bows 🙂  Really helps with the “Oh my, what a darling little boy” comments.  It also helps to dress up any outfit!  I love the look and feel of felt for these headbands.  I decided to write up a tutorial on the process!  Enjoy!  **Tutorial is for personal use only.  If blogged about, I would appreciate a shout out and possibly a link back here to the tutorial.  Thanks!

*If you don’t have the resources or time to make your own bows but need to get your hot little hands on a sweet everyday set, I have listed a classic colors set of 6 in my shop.

Supplies:

-felt (wool blend used) *Joann fabrics carries basic colors and Etsy is another great place to find wool blend and pure wool felts

waxed beading thread.  This thread is thick like dental floss (you could use dental floss in a bind).  It is very strong and ideal for making bows and hair accessories.  I found mine at Walmart in the beading aisle. Linked up to Amazon.

printable template PDF (please do not redistribute or copy, my own personal design)

-fabric scissors

-needle

-elastic (double fold used).  Find it here or here.

 

Step 1.

Cut felt pieces according to template.  Cut elastic.  Typically newborn babies head’s measure approx. 12.5″-13″, so cut elastic at 13.5″.  If making for older baby or child, measure their head first.  Add 1″ to the measurement to account for overlap.  Now is a good time to thread your needle.  Cut a long piece of beading thread and double it up knotting the ends together.

 

Step 2.

Fold 5″ piece of felt overlapping ends by about 1/2″ on each end as pictured.

Step 3.

Place folded felt piece on top of 3″ felt piece, centering it.  Set aside.

Step 4.

Making sure elastic isn’t twisted, overlap ends about 1/2″ on each end and hold in place.

Step 5.

Place felt pieces directly over the folded portion of the elastic, center the elastic in back of felt.  Hold with one hand in place.

Step 6.

With the knot starting on the top edge of the bow, make a running stitch (large stitch) and end with the thread on the upper side.

Step 7.

Pulling on thread, bunch up felt so that it creases along stitches.  Hold tight and begin wrapping thread around bow center tightly about 5-6 times (7a).  Turn over bow to back and run needle underneath wrapped thread.  This will create a loop with thread.  Send needle through the loop 3 times.  Pull needle slowly and create a tight knot at the base of bow. (7b)

Step 8.

Place a dab of glue (hot glue used) in front center of bow.  Adhere 1/2″ piece of felt to the glue, centered.

Step 9.

Glue down each end of the 1/2″ piece of felt around the back of the bow.  Trim ends if necessary if they are too long.

Step 10.

Trim the bottom 1″ layer of felt ends into v-shapes.  Try to keep them further out than the bow for the best look.

Step 11.

Use fray check on elastic ends to keep them from fraying or unraveling.  You are done!  YAY!

Now that’s a cute baby head! 🙂

I would love to see bows you make!  Come and enter them into the Flickr group!   

P.S. The boots my baby are modeling are made using my Ruffled Boots Pattern available in my shop!

 

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Accessorize – Baby Felt Bow Headband Tutorial”


  1. 1 Patty October 30, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Thanks for the link to buy elastic!! I have been looking and I finally just ordered. Love the tutorial and can’t wait to make some! Love your precious baby in her cute boots 🙂

  2. 2 stacy @hartandsew October 31, 2011 at 6:36 am

    i’ve been meaning to make these for Lark, so cute!

  3. 3 Amber November 3, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Can you use regular felt for these?

    • 4 sewshesews November 3, 2011 at 6:34 pm

      Sure you can! I would highly recommend wool felt or a blend though, it won’t pill as much and stay nicer for a longer period of time.

      • 5 Amber November 3, 2011 at 8:12 pm

        Blend, as in a poly one? My only place to shop is wal-mart and i would love to make these! Is there someting else you would suggest beside the elatsic you used, since i cant find it and would like to avoid using my cc?

  4. 6 Amber November 9, 2011 at 8:03 am

    My bow seems smaller than yours, but i used the template? for bigger heads would you go up in size on the bow and by how much if so?

    • 7 sewshesews November 9, 2011 at 12:35 pm

      If your bow looks smaller it might be that you are overlapping more than I am? Try doing a bit less or you can always just increase the length of the pieces to find the length you want. For bigger sizes you would just increase the length and width until you find the size you want. It will take some trial and error. Good luck! 🙂

  5. 9 Ash February 1, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I’d love to try this tutorial but when I click the template pdf it says its unavailable

  6. 10 Lia May 30, 2013 at 4:43 am

    Cute! I want to make one for my niece. Thank you for the tutorial!

  7. 11 Bea June 6, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Hello… I love the tutorial, but the PDF seems to be unavailable, would kindly uploaded again? I would love to make this for my baby, as are the only ones soft and not heavy for her little head 🙂


  1. 1 Hair bows | Trackback on April 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm
  2. 2 Birthday Tulip Dress | Gabi Sunshine Trackback on May 29, 2013 at 1:49 am

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,565 other subscribers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style