Pinwheels and Postage Stamps

Here is the completed quilt.  I am glad to finally have it done.  It did not turn out quite like I envisioned in my head and there are lots of mistakes, but I feel ok with that.  I washed and dried it today and I like how it turned out.  I promised a tutorial of sorts, so see below the pictures for that.

Pinwheels and Postage Stamps Baby Quilt

Measures approx. 32″x40″

Materials needed

  • solid and patterned fabrics.  Fq’s of patterned fabrics should be plenty for this size if  you use variety.  For the solids, buy a yard or so.
  • 1/2-3/4 yard fabric for binding
  • 1 1/2 yard fabric for backing
  • 100% cotton thread
  • batting (Bamboo/cotton blend used)
  • rotary mat and ruler

*all seams are 1/4″.

Step 1.

Cut out squares.

  • For pinwheels you will cut out 5″ squares of equal amounts of solid and patterns.  You will need two squares of each patterned and solid fabric to complete one pinwheel.  I used 12 different fabrics for the pinwheels.  So, 2 of each equaling 24 squares and 24 solid squares.
  • For postage stamp squares cut 2.5″.  I used 16 per row with 4 rows total.
  • cut sashing out of solid at 2″x44″ for on top, sides and in between each row for a total of 8
  • cut 5-6 staight bias strips for binding at 2.25×44.

Step 2.

Assemble blocks and rows.

  • Your pinwheels should come out at 9″ and then will measure 8.5″ when sewn into the quilt top.  For a good tutorial on pinwheels see here. Assemble 4 pinwheels together into a row.    Press seams open when linking pinwheels together.  Make sure to back tack on the open seams, opening the seams takes away a lot of bulk.  Trim if necessary.
  • sew your postage stamp squares in groups of 4 and trim and then assemble group of 4 into a row.  Do that to all rows until you have 4 rows total
  • Add sashing in between rows of pinwheels and 2 connected rows of postage stamp squares.  This can be better seen here

  • Add side sashing along entire length on both sides of top.

Step 3.

Quilt.

  • Baste backing fabric (face down), batting, and top (face up) and pin or spray to hold.
  • Quilt as desired.  I wanted a cozy looking quilt so I quilted very minimally tracing the outline of each square 1/4″ inside.
  • trim off excess

Step 4.

Bind.

I use this method here

1

2

3

Step 5.

Wash.

I always add vinegar to my wash and use dreft or woolite as a soap.  The vinegar helps fabrics from bleeding.  If you are worried (like with red fabrics) you can prewash your fabrics before starting.  Dry using low heat.

The End! 🙂

20 Responses to “Pinwheels and Postage Stamps”


  1. 1 vanessa April 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Where do you find the time to do this!? You’re seriously amazing!!! I love all your fabric projects…ALL OF THEM!

  2. 3 Bird and Bicycle April 9, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Lovely! The bright colors are cheerful. I am currently avoiding quilting my first quilt together, having pieced it and it sits, pinned and ready for love. I didn’t know about vinegar either – thanks for the trick!

  3. 5 shawna April 9, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    it is really beautiful jaime!
    vinegar is also a natural fabric softener and helps remove stink. i also put a splash in the kids bath and it keeps the bathtub clean. fyi…

  4. 7 Charlene April 10, 2011 at 3:51 am

    Love it! Thanks for sharing.

  5. 8 emily southerland photography April 10, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Jaime, this is incredible! I am in love with everything about it, even the bits you wanted to be dfifferent, whatever those are… 🙂 🙂 🙂

    You are my hero. Thanks for sharing!

  6. 9 Charlie Moorby April 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I’m so inspired by this post! Such a lovely combination of colours… who wouldn’t be cheered up by all this! I’ve never been a huge fan of patchwork, but this has totally changed my opinion of it x

  7. 11 Amanda April 13, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    This quilt is so pretty! I love it. Thanks for the pattern. I am going to try it with a charm pack. I think it will work out.

  8. 12 laura dirks March 15, 2012 at 1:54 am

    this is really cute thanks for the awesome tutorial

  9. 14 tracey March 24, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    This is beautiful, and should be simple to make. I am going to put this project on my short list. Thank you

  10. 15 Pat Hulstine October 7, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Love this pattern! Going to try it. Thank you for this pattern!

  11. 16 The Mrs. February 18, 2013 at 1:54 am

    I absolutely loved your quilt. So much so, that I followed your tutorial (mostly) and made one of my own. Want to see? http://www.flickr.com/photos/53441996@N06/8465211003/in/set-72157626585781468

    Thank you for such lovely inspiration.


  1. 1 A quilt in one afternoon…..and a GIVEAWAY! « Sew She Sews's Trackback on April 18, 2011 at 1:55 pm
  2. 2 Wee Vintage Wednesday 11/9/2011 « Sew She Sews's Trackback on November 10, 2011 at 4:02 pm
  3. 3 2013 Finish-A-Long | Knit-Spin-Quilt Trackback on January 11, 2013 at 2:03 pm
  4. 4 A list of 30 (+ more than 50) free tutorials for quilt blocks | a little bird made me Trackback on June 28, 2013 at 7:23 am

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,565 other subscribers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style