Ok, I lied

Vintage Sheet Crib Mobile, originally uploaded by joomoolynn.

I am back despite my promise to stay away until after the baby arrives šŸ™‚ I had a burst of nesting energy today and wanted to get the crib mobile checked off of my long list of to-do’s. I used vintage sheets this time and wrapped the hoop in fabric as well.

I made the circles much bigger than usual, I used a jam jar for the template. I really wanted to show off the prints and needed a bigger circle for that.

I also decided to forgo the ribbon and just sew down each circle connecting them into a long string. I thought it would make it look more dainty and feminine than the ribbon.

For the beading I used glass beads in yellow and clear for a more refined look.

I quite like how it turned out and my kids told me it looks like a fancy chandelier. Mission accomplished! šŸ™‚

You too can make your own crib mobile! I have a free tutorial here on my blog with step by step instructions. You can find it here.

Ok, I really am off now……..I think šŸ˜‰ Only 4 more days to go!

Adios!

12 Responses to “Ok, I lied”


  1. 1 Lindsay July 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    The mobile looks great! I am due in November and will definitely do something like this! Also you are a crazy women! Due in 4 days and still running around making fancy projects! I wish I had your energy!

    • 2 sewshesews July 28, 2011 at 1:39 am

      Haha! I am crazy šŸ˜‰ I crashed in the middle of it, but I had to finish and now I think I got it out of my system……

  2. 3 kara_gade@yahoo.com July 28, 2011 at 1:14 am

    Hi! I love this project! I have a 10 week old and not enough time to cut out all these circles….SO…I had an idea, but I wasn’t sure if it would work. I bought the biggest circle punch I could find (1 3/4 inches) from the scrapbooking section. The punch won’t cut out just fabric, BUT if you iron on the adehsive and leave the backing paper on, the punch works! This is going to save me a ton of time, so maybe I can make one of these for my little munchkin before he turns 18! Thanks so much! Kara

    • 4 sewshesews July 28, 2011 at 1:38 am

      AWESOME!!!! Thanks so much sharing the tip, I will have to use that in the future šŸ™‚ I would love to see your mobile once you finish!

  3. 6 kara_gade@yahoo.com July 28, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    So the circle punch became dull after about 10 uses and it quit working. Guess I will be cutting them out by hand. Oh well.

    • 7 sewshesews July 28, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      Darn! šŸ˜¦

    • 8 Cathy August 26, 2011 at 2:09 am

      I bet you could use a cuttlebug and spellbinder circles….they wouldn’t get dull. A tip to sharper you circle punch: punch heavy duty foil with you punch…it sharpens it (you might have to do it several times).
      –Love a Scrapbooker

  4. 9 Christina July 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I love it! You always have such pretty, unique fabrics.
    Good luck getting ready for babytime!

  5. 10 Veerle Witdouck August 2, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Wonder if the baby is born yet……:)

  6. 11 ~Junkyard Jennifer August 3, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    This is one of the prettiest mobiles I’ve seen in a long time! I love all of the different patterns and colors together. {I found it via Pinterest.}

    ~ Jennifer

  7. 12 TEAM CRAFTWELL November 22, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for the eye candy!

    Team Craftwell
    ecraftbycraftwell.blogspot.com


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,565 other subscribers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style