Holy Knit! It’s a Giveaway!

I love myself a good pun 😉  So, a few days ago I posted that I had begun knitting and that it has become an obsession.  It really has.  I think about it constantly, look up patterns to try every chance I get, download apps onto my phone for knitting on the go, buy reference books…….and yarn……cannot forget the fabulous yarn that is out there.  Oh, and if you have not been on Ravelry yet, get thee hence and join,stat!  Here is my page, friend me! 🙂

Here is my stash…..so far.  There are actually a few more skeins on their way to me.  I have other yarns than these, but these are my “nice yarns”.  Meaning they don’t come from Michaels or Walmart 😉 I bought the Malabrigo from The Yarn Boutique here in Rochester.  I bought the Fuzzy Bunny at the Hearts and Crafts show from a fellow vendor who spins and dyes her own yarn and the Madeline Tosh was purchased on Ebay.

My local crafty thrift shop has loads of knitting supplies so I went this week and loaded up on needles to try.  I took a class at The Yarn Boutique on beginning knitting and it was really great!  I learned a lot and highly recommend taking a class for those who do better with hands on learning *ahem…me.

So then, I had a problem, I had loads of needles and no where to store them.  Then I remembered I had seen a knitting needle roll sometime on Pinterest and thought that would be a great idea!  This is the tutorial I used. I can already tell I am going to need more than one, maybe next one I will enlarge a bit.  Maybe with more rows of pockets.

I decided to add a strap to hold the stitch holders I made that can open and close with a snap.

Here it is all rolled up

fabrics used were

Heather Ross -Far Far Away II

Erin Michaels – Lush (which is getting reprinted I hear!)

Denyse Schmidt – Fairground for Joann Fabrics and Spotlight

Joel Dewberry – Woodgrain

So….stitch markers….how about a giveaway?  Stitch markers are used to keep track of rows in knitting  and crochet.  I have a bead addicted past and was so excited to pull out all my things ti make my own pretty, dangly markers!  I decided that these two deserve to go to a new home.  The lampwork glass beads are made by a fellow Etsian named Krissy.  The headpin is silver.  It is pretty and dangly 🙂  if you want it enter your name.  Only once for this giveaway.  Giveaway will end 12/23 at midnight.

In other news, I have started listing the items left over from the Hearts and Crafts show in my Etsy shop.  I have loads of things ready to ship for the Holidays!

Happy Thursday!

11 Responses to “Holy Knit! It’s a Giveaway!”


  1. 2 whileyouwerenapping December 15, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I’m not sure if this is where we enter but i hope so 😉 Love reading your blog 🙂

  2. 3 Serendipity Vintage December 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    Very cute stitch markers! I could definitely use those.

    Please feel free to enter the giveaway at my blog too!

  3. 4 Jackie December 15, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I sent you a friend request on Ravelry….

    LOVE the needle roll – stitch marker storage is brilliant! You’ll love knitting with Madelinetosh and the Malabrigo. I’m not familiar with the other yarn but the color is gorgeous. I also agree with you about taking classes. They’re a fun way to learn new skills and meet other knitters – completely frustration free!

  4. 5 Joan December 16, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Thanks for the giveaway! Love the stitch markers!

  5. 6 kariberi December 16, 2011 at 1:48 am

    You need to join Raverly. Its a free website dedicated to crocheters and knitters. There are forumns, free patterns, etc etc.

  6. 8 Njeri. December 16, 2011 at 7:14 am

    I am teaching myself to knit and having so much fun. throw my name in the hat.

  7. 9 lorraine December 16, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    your needlecase looks great..ive been looking for a tutorial on how to make one..i would love to win those stitch markers they are lovely! 🙂

  8. 10 jessica w. December 17, 2011 at 3:59 am

    I have never heard of stitch markers,but they sound smart!

  9. 11 elflyn December 18, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Well aren’t they the cutest!!
    Your needlecase looks lovely. Great fabrics I love Woodgrain.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,426 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


