Wee Vintage Wednesday 11/2/2011

Good morning!  Technically…….(12:06 a.m. here in good ole NY).  I am getting this post in because who knows how tomorrow will go.  This week features my little Violet girl.  She is wearing a smock/swing top/dress…….not quite sure what to call it other than adorable, that I found a while back and just found in storage as I was organizing and putting the summer clothes away.

Now, this top is handmade and I am not positive that it is really vintage.  It looks like a vintage cut/style, so I am going with it 🙂  I simply adore the fabric print, it looks like little cherries, but messy cherries……does that even make sense?  Remember, midnight here and my brain has already gone to bed 😉

It is smocked completely by hand (as in not a pre-gathered panel that has then been embroidered).  Gosh I am a sucker for smocking.  I fully intend to learn this skill.  It makes my insides all jello like….love.

There is also smocking on the sleeves at the wrist making it flare out all ruffly over her hands.  Totally adorable.  She is showing off the large fake spider she found while walking back from the bus stop.  Some poor trick or treater must have dropped it last night.

Closeup of the fabric and lovely smocking

It is so flowy and perfect for little girl twirls….she loves to twirl 🙂

We paired it with some skinny jeans and moccasins.  Yum.

It was a perfect and WARM fall day today.  It was lovely.  Happy Wednesday!

Outfit Details:

Shirt – vintage (I think), handmade and thrifted

Pants – Old Navy skinny jeans

Shoes – moccasins by Exhilaration

Hair bow – made by me (wool felt)

Have a nice sleep and wonderful day everyone!

Linking up to Little Vintage Style and Small Style.

p.s. photos were taken with my iphone using the Hipstamatic app.

11 Responses to “Wee Vintage Wednesday 11/2/2011”


  1. 2 Lauren Rose November 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    I looove smocking and someday when I learn patience I will learn to smock as well! 😉 Those boots are perfect with that sweet top…

  2. 3 ingrid November 3, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Another smocking fan here. I still remember my smocked dresses from back in the early 1970’s – oh how I wish I still had them now for my girls to wear.
    I adore Violets smocked smock and it is perfect with those skinny jeans.

  3. 4 Gabrielle November 3, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I’ll join the smocking fan club too, my Grandmother used to smock dresses for me and I really would love to learn too. Your girl looks gorgeous in the top with the wee hair bow and I love the name Violet, it was always on our girls list

  4. 5 liz November 3, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    skinny jeans and mocs paired with a smock?? that’s my kinda gal. i could wear that everyday 🙂

  5. 7 OliversForest November 3, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    love it!

  6. 8 kelli November 3, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    What a cute little top! I did some hand smocking many years ago, very time consuming but worth it!

  7. 9 Susan November 3, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Smock-tastic for sure!
    I would totally wear that top in my size. Just sayin’

  8. 10 Claudia Guerreiro November 4, 2011 at 4:08 am

    i love it! she looks adorable.

  9. 11 Melanie November 5, 2011 at 4:50 am

    I just love that top!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,480 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


