Wee Vintage Wednesday 10/19/11

Hello party people!  It’s wednesday and time for my wee little people and their vintage clothes.  This week I chose to feature my Elsie Bellsie (aka Eleanor). 🙂

I found her fabulous vintage and hand made dress long before she was born.  As soon as I found out I was having a girl I started looking for sweet vintage dresses.  This one is one of the first that I found.

I LOVE that it is very non traditional baby colors.  I am pretty much swooning over the jewel tones the fact that it is plaid.

It is hand smocked too!  I love the peter pan collar and the lace around the sleeves.  It also has 3/4 sleeves which is unusual for baby clothes and it is so sweet.

Her accessories are a happy accident in that they all matched perfectly!  Her headband is one I made from double fold elastic (LOVE that stuff for headbands) and wool felt in mustard.

Her boots (yes she has like a hundred pairs now) are made from vintage velvet fabric found at my favorite vintage craft thrift shop.

This would be when the photo shoot started to go south.  I had  to get the bib though!  I made this the other day from a vintage pattern I have.  It is already almost too small for her.  Bummer.  It is a darling bib pattern!  It ties around her back with ribbons and it is darling.  I love the lace touch.  Floral fabric is from Joann Fabrics.

That my friends, is all she wrote.

Outfit details;

dress – vintage and hand made

tights – Baby Gap

diaper cover – Old Navy

shoes – made by me using my Ruffled Boot Pattern

bib – made by me using vintage McCall’s 7715 pattern

headband – made by me

Will link up to Little Vintage Style, Small Style and Mod Baby once they are up.

12 Responses to “Wee Vintage Wednesday 10/19/11”


  1. 1 venus October 19, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I love the jewel tones too. The smocking detail is what got me! Not to mention the boots. 😉

  2. 2 Corey Moortgat October 19, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    yes, really sweet! Love the colors and the yellow thread! She is such a doll!

  3. 3 ingrid October 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    So completely sweet and lovely! I adore the colours and love seeing little girls wearing such rich tones that aren’t pink. All round just she is just the sweetest dolly in the sweetest outfit and with the sweetest name too. Eleanor is one of my all time favourite names but I could never use it as it is almost identical to the name of the suburb we live in.

  4. 4 Gabrielle October 19, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I love smocked dresses, learning to smock is on my ‘to learn one day’ list. I love all the little boots you make too, so perfect with the little vintage dresses.

  5. 5 VickiT October 20, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Oh my gosh that is the cutest little dress! And that adorable model just makes it all just perfect. She’s such a cutie.
    is it bad that I just adore her in the full blown crying picture? She just looks like I need to run over and pick her up. Too cute.

  6. 6 erica @ expatriababy October 20, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I have a love affair with smocked baby dresses. Probably because that’s what I wore when I was a baby- they were all made by my Nana. Your wee girl looks adorable.

  7. 7 Susan October 20, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Adorable!
    I feel like running over to pick her up too.
    You are so crafty. I’m jealous.

  8. 8 Melissa Inglis October 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    tee hee… hard to not chuckle at how cute and adorable she looks even when she’s right peeved at being the model! ;o) Your shots are just too much cute, as usual… loving all those ruffles of goodness!
    xo Mel
    needle and nest design

  9. 9 shannon October 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    The plaid, the smocking, the bib, I love it all! What an adorable little sweeat heart you have.

  10. 10 Bethany October 20, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    so beautiful, what a great dress… love the bib with it! and of course your little one is absolutely precious!

  11. 11 babymakinmachine October 21, 2011 at 4:09 am

    Oh MY GOODNESS!!! Sooo cute and I LOVE those shoes!! (And I have some shoe style!) haha!! Love love love, mama!!

  12. 12 Veerle Witdouck October 25, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Hello! Where can I get/buy the pattern for the booties?? Thanks
    veerle@wsnet.co.za


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,453 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


