Strawberries and Cream Bubble Tea

I went to the Asian Market the other day and they had some Tapioca pearls and bubble tea straws.  I had wanted to try bubble tea and so I bought them and brought them home.  My kids were intrigued/excited to try this new drink.  I have spent the last fews days browsing online to find some good recipes.  I woke up to this request this morning 🙂

I decided to make it smoothie style and based it loosely on Emma and Elsie’s recipe.  I basically threw some frozen strawberries in my blender (about 3/4 full) with 4 cups water and 3/4 cup sugar.  I blended it all together.  I put a few spoonfuls of the prepared boba (I bought 5 minute cook kind and followed the directions on the bag) soaked in honey into a glass and then poured the smoothie on top.  I added the half and half last to make it strawberry and cream flavored.

The verdict?  It’s really tasty!  I was a little scared of the pearls, I don’t like tapioca pudding at all, but they were yummy and fun to chew.  My kids liked it!  I think I will only do 1/2 cup sugar next time, it is a tad too sweet for my tastes.

I am excited to try it with tea next!  If anyone has any yummy recipes to share I would love to have them 🙂

Happy Weekend!

9 Responses to “Strawberries and Cream Bubble Tea”


  1. 1 Aisha G October 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    This is awesome. I’m all about exploring other cultures and this is great! Will be sharing around.

  2. 2 Page October 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    Mm sounds yummy. I don’t like tapioca either but sounds like I should try this. I first heard about bubble straws this summer when I was having a bubble birthday party for my son. Now that I have a recipe, maybe I will try them. Thanks for sharing.

  3. 3 Eva October 15, 2011 at 2:15 am

    Just wanted to say thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, and that your bubble tea looks delicious!

  4. 4 Theresa October 15, 2011 at 3:55 am

    That looks delicious!!!!! Growing up in Taiwan, tapioca is an all time favorite in drinks!!! I missed them soooo much while I was living in the Midwest, and was super excited to see them everywhere when I moved to CA~~

  5. 5 Christina October 15, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Ooooh! We love bubble tea, but I’ve never thought of making it at home. I must try this! Thanks!

  6. 6 Hannah Avery (@hannahgavery) October 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog! Your Bubble tea looks SO yummy! I have had Bubble tea one time,but yours looks way better!
    Have a blessed day!

    -Hannah

    http://blissfullyfeminine.blogspot.com

  7. 7 kelly October 16, 2011 at 2:56 am

    yummmm, i love boba! we first had it in houston and it became an addiction…

    but more importantly, where did you get that strawberry fabric??? is it vintage? are you selling it? i’m obsessed with strawberry fabric and am in the middle of making myself a quilt using almost all strawb. fabric.

  8. 9 rebecca October 17, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    this looks delish! thanks.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,489 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


