Thrifty Finds

Every now and again I like to take pictures of my thrifty finding adventures and I have had some good luck lately so I thought I would share them on the blog! 🙂

I go thrift shopping at least once a week.  Often times I come home empty handed, but finding something is just icing on the cake.  I just love to walk through the shops and look at all the fun things!  It is like therapy for me.  I do not feel this way about all shopping, only thrift shops.  I don’t know why that is.  In fact, after spending an hour at the mall I often feel like throwing myself off a cliff 😉

The last time I went I finally hit the jackpot in the boys vintage shirt department!  I always look for my oldest who is 7, but someone must have donated an entire wardrobe (in like new condition I might add) in just his size because there were several things there!  I snatched them right up.  I am particularly fond of these button and snap up shirts.

I also found some very lovely vintage sheets!  I use vintage sheets for lots of things.  For their original purpose, as bed linens, as backdrops for photos and for sewing with.  I am always on the lookout for fun and fresh prints when I go thrift shopping!

 

 

Oh vintage Pyrex, I love thee 🙂  I have quite the collection already as I had  the luck of a lifetime about a year ago when someone on Craigslist was selling her father’s collection that literally filled an entire house.  No lie!  I still like to look for special pieces when I go thrift shopping.  I found these at two different shops.  I have a fantastic bowl in the pattern on the top (not pyrex) and I can never get enough Butterprint (on the bottom).  If I find some, it is mine!

Just the other day I was wishing I had access to some lovely vintage patterns for kids clothes.  You know, to make it my own 🙂  Well, the pattern Gods must have rained on me yesterday!  I went to my local craft thrift vintage shop and they were having a pattern closeout sale on all vintage patterns!  Most of these were 5/$1!  I got about 30…….that sounds like a lot doesn’t it?  Here is my favorite one.  If you would like to see the rest you can click on the link to the right to get to my Flickr stream.

Today is a lazy day.  I am not feeling well and I got almost no sleep last night.  My little babes turns 8 weeks old today and she woke up about that many times last night.  Have a great rest of the weekend and I will see you all Monday for the pants tutorial!

4 Responses to “Thrifty Finds”


  1. 2 Diane Schafer September 25, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    You did hit the jackpot. How fun would it be to put together a gift basket for a new bride using one of the casserole dishes, some hand made pot holders, kitchen towels, serving utensils and a carrying case? I love the sheets. I can just imagine how cute a pillow case dress would be in those fabrics. I love vintage patterns. I have a 33 yr old daughter that loves the designs from the 70’s. Hope that you get some much needed sleep, Diane

  2. 3 Aisha G of Hartlyn Kids September 26, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Vintage Pyrex! I can’t believe someone gave that up! Oh man – that is the best stuff.

  3. 4 ingrid September 26, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Great finds, especially those vintage shirts!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,410 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


