These boots were made for………

hmmm, not walking…….how about for sitting there looking cute? 🙂  I have been sick as a dog these last few days.  I never get sick so when I do, it is a doozy!  I took some Sudafed right before bed.  I don’t have much experience with the drug, but needless to say it did NOT help me sleep.  It did the opposite.  I felt wired and jittery.  My mind was racing and I was not sleeping any time soon.  While lying there cursing the thought popped into my head, “Hey, I should get up and design some baby boots!”  So, I did.  I have made a few pairs of shoes now and once you start making them you can’t stop.  Shoes are also pretty straight forward to make.

I drafted a pattern of what I wanted to do and got to work.  The first couple of tries did not work out.  I fixed all the errors I could find and finally a boot that worked!

I added elastic to the backs to help keep them on, but that wasn’t enough to make them stay put.  So then I added elastic to the fronts as well.  I need to work on that part a bit and figure out how to center it more.  Next time I will also use regular thread on this part and not the heavy duty thread.  It looks a little funky.

These are lined with wool felt and the soles are also wool felt.  They are nice and cozy 🙂

The ruffle on the top is actually part of a skirt she had that no longer fits her.  I like the added touch 🙂

Snaps are KAM snaps, love those things!

The houndstooth fabric is a Joann Fabrics find!  They had in grey as well and you know I snatched that up too!  I love me some houndstooth!  Eleanor seems to like her boots, they seem comfy and cozy and that adds up to success in my baby dressing book 🙂

14 Responses to “These boots were made for………”


  1. 1 Veerle Witdouck September 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Ach man, they look sooo adorable! Well done genius!

  2. 2 Irene Call September 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    OMG! These are to-die-for!! Darling 🙂

  3. 4 Emmy September 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    So cute!!! You are so talented. I miss you.

  4. 5 Patty September 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Oh MY GOSH!! Those are the cutest little boots ever. They look beautiful on your baby girl 😀

  5. 6 wendy September 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    These are really cute!
    The problem with the Sudafed could be for two reasons. Firstly I think they do a day one and a night one – the day one has caffeine in it.
    Secondly, it might have anti-hystymines in it. I’m not sure, I can’t remember, but I’m allergic and I have a reaction like you just described – check the packet!

  6. 7 Christina September 22, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    Oh boy, the cuteness!!!! Honestly, these are the most adorable boots I have ever seen in my life EVER.
    And I have exactly the same problem with sudafed and any other OTC drug that has a sleep aid. They knock me out initially and then I wake up a couple of hours later feeling like I’m on Speed. Life’s unfair sometimes. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. 8 Mel September 23, 2011 at 1:58 am

    for the sake of sounding redundant here… swoooon, those boots are a hoot! Love it! And now… I’m following you.. beware. ;o)
    Mel
    needle and nest

  8. 9 Judy March 27, 2012 at 3:37 am

    Another boot fan here! Those are sooo adorable! I can’t believe you actually made them. You really have mad skills!

    Judy @ KAMsnaps.com

  9. 11 Kayleigh March 27, 2012 at 4:24 am

    How freakin adorable!!! I would LOVE to have that pattern!!!

  10. 13 Annette March 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Love the boots do you think you send me the pattern I have a grandchild that would look great in them


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,426 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


