Wee Vintage Wednesdays

I recently came across a blog called Hart & Sew (thanks Pinterest!) and about fell over at all the eye candy going on over there!  She is a cute mom with fantastic style who also loves to dress her wee ones in vintage clothing (she also sells children’s vintage items in her Etsy shop!).  She does a feature every wednesday with the cutest vintage clothes and encourages her readers to dress their little ones in vintage, blog about it and share their link!  I think it is so fun!  So, I think I will try to make every wed. a wee vintage post.  Sometimes it will be thrift store finds and other times it will be things I have upcycled using vintage fabrics or vintage patterns!  Here are a few posts I have already participated in.  If this makes you feel all squishy inside, like me, why don’t you join in the fun? 🙂  I entered myself twice this week, hope that is ok!  I had already made Violet a darling shirt from a vintage sheet.

I recently found a bunch of wonderful boy vintage items at the thrift store.  Frankly that doesn’t happen very often so I was really stoked!  I love to dress Rowan in vintage but I only had a couple of pieces for him that I inherited from my mother in law (my husband used to wear them as a baby).  You can see one outfit here.

The overalls are the thrift store find and the shirt is from the above mentioned outfit.  He is only going to have a few weeks to wear these sadly, it is turning cold here now and these for sure will not fit him next summer 😦  Oh well, enjoy it while it lasts, right? I just love overall shorts on chunky little thighs! 🙂  I also love the nautical detail on the shorts.  I love nautical themes on clothing.  I just found a vintage sheet with little anchors all over it, but that is for another day 😉  The reds in the shirt and shorts matched perfectly!

The moccasins are another thrift store find and are vintage Minnetonka.  We have a couple pairs of their moccasins, so adorable! 🙂

Outfit details:

Shirt and overalls – vintage (shirt was my husbands as a baby)

Shoes – vintage Minnetonka moccasins.

For more wee little eye candy check out Small Style as well!

Have a fantastic Wednesday! 🙂

9 Responses to “Wee Vintage Wednesdays”


  1. 1 Diane Schafer September 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I am excited about your Wee Vintage Wednesdays. I have grandchildren, ages 5, 3 1/2 , 2, and 1. I love the style that I use to dress their parents in back in the day.

  2. 2 Corey Moortgat September 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Absolutely perfect!! I love it! I never found any good boy vintage when my sons were little- thankfully I also had a girl to cutesy up!

  3. 3 Liz September 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Hi! I’ve been an absent participant from Little Vintage Style on Hart and Sew but I’m back and glad to see some new adorable faces! Those overalls are amazing..I love nautical stuff!

  4. 4 ingrid September 14, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    He looks adorable! Even when he outgrows them I think they would look super sweet on your baby girl when she grows into them. Maybe pair it with a white tee, some cute sandals and big red hairbow and it would make a gorgeous little girl set too.

  5. 6 gabrielle September 15, 2011 at 1:50 am

    great finds – I know how hard boy vintage is to find,and such an adorable outfit on your boy, I love nautical themed vintage too

  6. 7 lishyloo September 15, 2011 at 2:25 am

    ahhh! love the nautical overalls! and the shirt you made is to die for! i wish i could sew.

    lishyloo

  7. 8 Rose September 15, 2011 at 3:23 am

    I looove those moccasins! And those nautical john-johns… If only he knew how fashionable he was! Hope you’ll do more Little Vintage Style!

  8. 9 stacy @hartandsew September 20, 2011 at 3:58 am

    he is so cute, i am a sucker for all things nautical as well! and the shirt you made is darling too! love the print and the buttons on the pockets, great job! and thank you for your nice words 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,426 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


