Taking it to the limit! Matchy Matchy….

Last night after the kids were in bed I decided to make a little something for my Miss Violet.  I had already made a dress for Eleanor out of this pillowcase and had a bit left over and decided to make a shirt out of it for her.

I measured from her shoulder to where I wanted the shirt to hit and added a couple inches for the seam allowance in the neckline.  I cut armholes using this pattern and made seam bias from some other vintage polka dot fabric I had.

Then I ironed down the neckline 1/4″ and then another 1″ to make room to thread a ribbon through it.  I sewed it down.

Then I added pockets by making a template in a wide U shape I cut the pocket and liner in this shape.  Then ironed a pleat in the center and tacked it down.  I covered some large buttons with the vintage sheet fabric and attached those at the center of the pockets.  I then attached the pockets to the shirt.

Then I added the ribbon to the neckline.  Using a large safety pin, I fed the ribbon all the way through the front and back of the neckline.  Then I cinched it up to where it would best fit her.  I cut off the ribbon ends and used a lighter to heat seal the ends so they don’t fray.  Then I folded the ends over a few times and sewed them down so they *hopefully won’t unthread.

So, now they have a matching outfit 🙂  It’s kinda cute, I kinda want to make more matchy matchy stuff…….

Violet’s outfit details

Shirt – handmade using vintage sheet and vintage fabric.

Leggings – The Children’s Place

Jacket and Boots – thrifted

Necklace – vintage costume jewelry inherited from her Great Grandma Rouvoe 🙂

Hairbow – handmade using wool felt

*Eleanor’s dress is one I made using the Altered Onesie Dress Tutorial.

9 Responses to “Taking it to the limit! Matchy Matchy….”


  1. 1 Valerie September 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    These are lovely! What beautiful children!

  2. 2 Patty September 9, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Oh my gosh both aer too cute!!! Those pockets are to die for!!

  3. 3 BigMommaLener September 9, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    LOVE it! Violet looks so stinkin’ cute – such a savvy dresser!

  4. 5 Corey Moortgat September 14, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    so cute! I love the aqua bias tape around the armholes!

  5. 6 ingrid September 14, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Gorgeous – I love the pockets and a little bit of matchy matchy is always cute on sisters.

  6. 7 Rose September 15, 2011 at 3:31 am

    Coordinating! Very sweet! That pillowcase dress turned out perfect and it will be a cute shirt when it can no longer be a dress! And those pockets! Love!

  7. 8 Heather Grow November 18, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Gorgeous! I love all the little details like the fabric covered buttons. My mum used to dress my younger sister and me in matching outfits for church and pictures. Fun memories. Thanks for sharing.

  8. 9 Liz November 18, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    This is one of my favorite sheets of all time! I love it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,410 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


