Once There Was a Foolish Girl…..

Who stayed up until midnight sewing when she had a 5 week old baby.  That person is me and boy am I paying for it today.  I think a little of this might be in order

image source

I have times when working on a project that I have to keep going until it is done and I can think of little to nothing else, other times, it takes me months or *ahem* years to complete a project.

I saw this dress on Pinterest and remembered seeing it posted on Rachel’s blog back in the day.  I bought these fabrics at my local thrift craft shop and had been saving them for something when the baby came along.  This dress, my friends, was it.  It was like, calling to me. 🙂  I paired the vintage rose fabric (fitting since my little Jelly Bean’s middle name is Rose) with some Urban Chiks (the stripes and bird fabrics).

image source

I followed the basic pattern for the dress pieces but switched things up a bit by adding an apron, making a large pleat with a bow in the front and changing the shape of the straps and adding snaps instead of buttons.

Now, I want to make her some shoes to go with it 🙂  Maybe these

image source  

Is anyone working on something fun this fine Sunday?  I need a nap……but not before that coffee!  Have a wonderful day 🙂

8 Responses to “Once There Was a Foolish Girl…..”


  1. 1 Victoria Paige September 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    That dress is adorable! I was definitely not up sewing when my daughter was 6 weeks old. My daughter is almost 9 months old and half the time I am in bed by 9:30. When I was pregnant with her though I definitely stayed up till midnight sewing and finishing her quilt.

    The dress is so cute. She will look darling in it!

  2. 2 analufranco September 4, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Working on some pillows for my mom!
    I understand getting carried away!

  3. 3 Marie Grubbs September 4, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    I love love love the little dress. Girly things are so adorable. I have a handsome boy.

    Just a thought, if you plan on making more you could make the little apron seperately and button it on then easily switch it out if it gets mess,y plus it would preserve the dress for passing on.

    Hang in there!

  4. 4 Diane Schafer September 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Your work and ideas never let me down and always inspire me…like watching Project Runway! Look forward to every post, every picture and every tutorial, Thank you, Diane

  5. 5 ingrid September 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Adorable! You might be foolish but you are also very clever.

  6. 6 Zirkuskind September 5, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Ohhhhh, thats soooo cute!! 🙂

  7. 7 Amy September 6, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    OMG! I just about died from cute overload! I’m sorry you were so tired from staying up late sewing, but honey, it was worth it! I love it!

  8. 8 Veerle Witdouck September 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    I am looking for a pattern for a little girl’s handbag. Anybody can help?
    Thanks, Veerle


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,489 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


