Little Bits and Pieces

I am so in love with this little girl!  She is just the sweetest thing in the world 🙂  I am dying to freeze time and keep her this small forever.  Knowing this is our last baby is making it so much more bittersweet.  She is already a week old and before I know it, she will be done with this newborn stage…..my favorite.

I took her and got her newborn photos taken by a friend of mine.  I made lots of goodies for the shoot and thought I would share them on my blog 🙂

I had so much fun making these little hair flowers.  I found a free tutorial online and whipped up a bunch in every color 🙂  I bought some swarovski gems for the centers.  I use Elmer’s school glue to attach them to her head.  It is water based and non toxic and works wonderfully.  I used wool felt for the flowers and leaves.  After working with wool felt, you will never want to go back, it is so worth it!

I normally swaddle my babies in jersey knit fabric, it doesn’t fray and holds the baby comfortably and snugly.  I wanted some swaddle photos but wanted some fun modern fabrics.  I found this black and cream striped jersey at Joann Fabrics.  The headband was made with a silk flower with a swarovski jewel center, repurposed beaded leaves from a headband of mine, glued onto some thin round elastic.  I used a circle of felt on the other side of the elastic to adhere to the flower.  Headbands are so easy to make for so little money.  This probably cost me $.50 total!  I made this before she was born and had to guess on the diameter of the circle (I did 13 inches) and it fits perfectly.  I would suggest waiting to see how big the baby’s head is first though.  Some great sources for elastic for the headbands can be found here and here.

I love this one 🙂  The crocheted hat and diaper cover pattern was purchased from here.  My friend made it for me, it was a bit above my crocheting abilities.

The quilt is one I have been working on for her and I just need to bind it.  It is made entirely from vintage sheets cut into 6.5″ squares.  I made her crib mobile out of the same prints.  It is so soft and feminine and I just love it.

I made this crocheted cocoon out of some yummy chunky wool blend yarn found at the crafty thrift shop.  Here is a free online tutorial to make your own.  It is really easy and makes such a fun photo prop!  The background is a vintage sheet I picked up a few weeks ago.

So there you have it!  I am already itching to make something again, it will have to wait though.  I just need to get through these sleepless nights first!  I hope you are all having a wonderful Monday.

8 Responses to “Little Bits and Pieces”


  1. 1 Dana August 8, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Jamie, she is absolutely beautiful!! And I love all your “bits and pieces.” The photos are perfect!

  2. 2 Noga Lewis August 8, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    What a lovelt beautiful little girl! Enjoy her in happiness and health!

  3. 3 kari s August 8, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    oh my gosh! Im dying over here! My youngest is 16 months and now I want another one. sigh… And to think my husband got snipped. sigh…. she is beautiful!

  4. 4 anna August 8, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    just beautiful! enjoy these moments like you said and try to get some rest. 🙂

  5. 5 Melissa August 8, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    She is just precious! Beautiful pictures!

  6. 6 Veerle Witdouck August 9, 2011 at 6:55 am

    She is so adorable!

  7. 7 Sara Wright August 11, 2011 at 3:41 am

    I have to say that the crocheted hat and diaper cover are my favorite of them all- especially with the soft colors of the quilt. She is beautiful!

  8. 8 Nicole FollowtheWhitebunny August 24, 2011 at 7:03 am

    Oh your baby is so sweet and the photos are beautiful. Congratulations with your new baby!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,464 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


