A project just for fun

Vintage crewel, originally uploaded by joomoolynn.

ETA I just traced the pattern off of the instruction sheet and also uploaded the instruction sheet.   You can get them hereand here.

I just finished this beauty up tonight! I went the the crafty thrift shop last week and happened to glance through the embroidery and crewel kits. There were a set of 3 of these linen and crewel sets there and I bought all 3.

I started on the deer because, well, it’s my favorite 🙂 I want to frame these and hang them above the crib once the baby comes.

I wish I could point people in a direction to try and track down their own kits, but the instructions were super vague and didn’t even have a company name listed on them. Just that they are made from Belgian Linen and printed in the USA. There is a pattern number that reads 293A though.

The other two are a peacock and a butterfly one. They are all so lovely and I just love the colors.

This was my first time working with a) a kit and b) crewel yarn. It was a fun new experience! The kit makes it super fast and easy with all the colors already picked out and the linen already printed on. The crewel yarn is much more delicate than floss is and doesn’t lay flat like floss either. I do love the chunky look that the yarn gives though.

The one downside to kits is that they really scrimp on the yarn inclluded. I had to borrow a few strands from another kit and may have to switch a few colors to make it all work out.

It was really fun and relaxing to do something just for fun with no deadline looming. I am going to have to start cracking the whip on myself however, my baby is due very soon and I still have not started on all the things she will need when she arrives.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend and a great holiday to my US friends 🙂 Link me up to what you are working on these days! Have a great night.

3 Responses to “A project just for fun”


  1. 1 wendy May 29, 2011 at 11:12 am

    wow! it looks fantastic. I bought a crewel embroidery kit ages ago, but it’s seriously stalled as I bloody hate it! I love the design but can’t stand stitching with the wool. I’ve already ran out of 6 of the colours. I wrote to DMC to try and track them down as there are no numbers on them, but they are ignoring me!!

  2. 2 Libby May 29, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Oh! I love it! That will be so sweet in the babies room!! Wonderful colors!

  3. 3 Eliza Wren Payne May 29, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Jaime! i LOVE those pillow case dresses and the pebble quilting. just catching up on you here, and i am always amazed at how many beautiful creations you are able to fit between 3 kids, including a toddler! you must have no tv or some magic trick like that. or maybe you do have a tv, to let the kids watch while YOU sew? just kidding..you’re amazing. xx


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,464 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


