Sigh….big happy breath

This weekend was lovely 🙂  I had a great Mothers Day.  My darling and adoring children brought me handmade gifts which I will keep forever and ever.  I got loaded up with hugs and kisses and little whispers of  “Your the best Mommy ever.”  My sweet husband woke up early Sunday morning and went to Dunkin Donuts and got some yummy calorie ridden treats for breakfast.  To top it all off we went for a long drive to the finger lake region to pick up my new Singer 15-91!  My husband hired a retired sewing machine man to fix one up for me 🙂  I already have a 201 and I love it like I would marry it, but it is not the greatest at free motion quilting.  The 15-91 is though!  We brought it home and husband installed it in a sewing table for me.

I got to give it a whirl last night.  I suck at free motion. Hahaha!  I have no practice.  It’s pretty much always been straight quilting for me.  I decided to tackle a throw pillow I have been working on for my rocking chair.  By the end I got more of the hang of things.  I did pebble quilting, which is essentially just drawing circles right next to each other to look like pebbles.  It uses a TON of thread.  But I love the look 🙂  Even if it is a bit crappy.  You can see a great tutorial on pebble quilting by the great Alissa.

Fabrics are mostly Anna Maria Horner’s Garden Party with some from other lines thrown in too.  The binding is Kona, plum I think.  You may ask yourself why I choose to sew on these ancient machines instead of a new one with all the bells and whistles.  Because, they just don’t make em like they used to.  And these are cheap to own and maintain.  These machines are like tanks.  They are all cast metal design, inside and out.  They are going to outlive me.  I will pass them onto my girls someday.  They sew so beautifully.  They make the most beautiful stitch and they can sew through anything, and I mean anything with ease.  I don’t know that I will ever own any other machines.  I someday would like a featherweight to be able to take to quilt group or something.  They are abundant.  Lots around and parts are easy to find.  I got this one for under $100 all fixed up with new wiring.  My 201 was only about $250 all refurbished.  And that is the cheap I am talkin bout 🙂

Happy Monday! 🙂

6 Responses to “Sigh….big happy breath”


  1. 1 Bird and Bicycle May 9, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Beautiful old machine. I love the older ones, as they are both beautiful and you’re saving something from the landfill. Very lovely indeed!

  2. 2 the sleepy time gal May 10, 2011 at 12:03 am

    beautiful machine (and pillow!) happy mother’s day!

  3. 3 emily May 10, 2011 at 4:31 am

    I love that you managed to include making and quilting a pillow on your new machine into your wonderful day. You constantly amaze me, Mrs. Jaime Young!

  4. 4 Lotus Vele May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Sorry I’m only now seeing this, but I had to comment when I saw my machine…er, your machine. ; ) I have the same thing! I had no idea that I could do free motion quilting on it! Can you point me in the right direction to try this out? I’m not familiar with the process, but I would love to try!
    Thank you!
    Lotus

  5. 6 Angie June 24, 2011 at 4:33 am

    Love! Love! Love! The pillow!!! The machine is beautiful. Looks a lot like what I sew on. 😉


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,489 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


