FMF Quilt Top

FMF Quilt Top, originally uploaded by joomoolynn.

I have finally started piecing together my memorial quilt top. I keep putting it off. I think it’s because I feel nervous about it. I want it to turn out how I want it in my head and I know that rarely happens (it is not happening perfectly in this case).

I love the look of pinwheels, but man I am having issues with wonkiness and warping! I have starched the heck out of them but I am still having some issues.

I think I am really out of practice. I haven’t quilted in a looooong time. I really never sew anymore, very rarely. I really love sewing, I need to make it more of a priority in my life.

I am debating wether I want to hand quilt this or send it to a long arm quilter. I have never hand quilted before and I am intimidated by it. I love the way hand quilting looks though.

If anyone has any suggestions or tips, I would so appreciate them 🙂

Happy Monday!

6 Responses to “FMF Quilt Top”


  1. 1 JLener March 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    What is this quilt for? It is LOVELY! Beautiful color choices, as ALWAYS.

  2. 2 Amy March 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I don’t know how big your quilt is, but when hand quilting, I am personally only able to do something smaller (That I can scruntch in my hand) based on my technique.

    So I would suggest practicing hand quilting on something else first… (You might not like the process even though you love the look.)

    I just had a quilt that I started to hand quilt, un quilted & sent off to be long armed – at the end of the day I wanted a finished quilt – not another UFO/WIP.

  3. 3 birdinhandquilts March 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I’ve found that I’m able to free motion quilt anything up to a twin bed size quilt in my machine easily. Anything larger is just a bit too cumbersome. How large is your quilt? The quilt looks absolutely gorgeous. You’re doing a fantastic job!

  4. 4 Ellen Ban March 14, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    I love handquilting, especially with the bigger stitches in perle cotton. I handquilted most of the quilts I’ve done and find it to be very relaxing to do a little bit each evening (or while sitting at music lessons, gymnastics classes!). If you don’t have a deadline, handquilting is great and lets you spend lots of time looking at and touching your FMF! The wait was worth it, as you came up with a beautiful design for the FMF.

  5. 5 leigh March 15, 2011 at 1:25 am

    I have been wondering how you were going to do this quilt. I haven’t made anything with my FMF yet.

    If you want it to be perfect, but you’ve never handquilted, I would at least practice some hand quilting on something small before setting off on your FMF quilt. And I think it looks great – but takes time.

    Also – before you send it off to a machine quilter, I’d make sure they are exactly what you want. I’ve had quilts come back that I don’t use because I didn’t like how they were quilted.

    Hope you find exactly what you want! It’s looking great!

  6. 6 Kristi March 15, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    HI!!!
    I saw some of your quilts on flickr. I LOVE THEM!
    I was wondering if you made them to sale. I was looking for my little 3 years old girls Twin “Big Girl” bed we are about to get. Let me know!
    THANKS SO MUCH!!!

    Kristi


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,452 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


