I Have Found Heaven On Earth My Friends….

It makes me a little sick really.  I have lived here for 2 years and never knew that this place existed.  I found out about it from a random post on Craigslist.  It was an ad begging people not to throw away old sewing machines (the horror, I have chills just typing those horrifying words) and instead donate them to this thrift vintage CRAFT SHOP. What!?!?  Vintage thrift craft shop??  All crafts?? All the time??  After I picked my jaw up off the floor I Googled it.  It looked amazing.  All the workers are volunteers in the form of cute older ladies with a passion for all things crafty.  The proceeds all go to the elderly.  The prices claimed to be dirt cheap.  I HAD to check it out.  It would be sinful if I didn’t , like the next day.

So, I gathered a whole car full of unwanted crafty stuff to donate (you know, to have an excuse to go) and hauled my 3 children with me.  When I entered I think I heard angels sing.  For reals.  It was amazing.  These cute little old ladies have made the cutest little shop chock full of wonderful vintage crafty goodness.  And the prices that promised to be dirt cheap?  Even better than dirt cheap.  I think I may have blacked out at one point from exhaustion of trying to wrap my mind around it all.  My kids were so happy there.  There were so many crafts for them there as well.

We picked up some things for them and some things for me.  My favorite parts were,

1. The vintage fabrics there.  Think the best selection ever and then triple that.  Seriously.  And then add on that they were all around $1 a yard.  Yup.  That’s right.  Lower than dirt cheap.

2.  Big bottles of vintage buttons.  For $1 each.  And they took the time to pink squares of fabrics and put them under the lids of the mason jars for added cuteness.  Also, loads of vintage trims/lace.

3.  Shelf full of vintage embroidery/crewel kits.  Either partially finished or new.  And embroidery floss for .10 each.  And vintage wooden hoops, you know, the good quality ones, and plastic ones too.  For like .50.  I.die.

Here are my goodies.  You must have cash or check.  If you live in the area, check them out.  But don’t buy everything or I will be mad at you.  Leave some for me 🙂

7 Responses to “I Have Found Heaven On Earth My Friends….”


  1. 1 D Spack July 8, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    OK, right now I wish I were in New York, not Idaho! I would LOVE to be able to see the fabric they have!!!What a great service they have going there.

  2. 2 Joni July 8, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Oh. My. Word. I am so jealous!! I want some! I would love to just walk around, wandering, gathering and drooling over things! I wish we had a fabulous place like that here! Enjoy!!

  3. 3 Shelly July 10, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Holy smokes! Where is this magical place? I want to go to there! Thanks for sharing this amazing find!

  4. 5 Mckinley July 10, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    So very jealous! You are so stinkin lucky!!! Hooray for thrift stores…especially vintage CRAFTY thrift stores with cute old ladies!!!

  5. 6 Robyn July 13, 2010 at 12:09 am

    This sounds full of awesomeness! I love little finds like this. Have a blast!

  6. 7 Shelly July 16, 2010 at 2:45 am

    You have *got* to be kidding me! I grew up in Rochester! (I live in the Hudson Valley now.) Looks like it’s time for a visit home…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,481 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


