Blogger’s Quilt Festival

It is time for the third annual Blogger’s Quilt Festival over at Amy’s Creative Side. My entry for this year is my Goldfish Quilt I made for my new baby.

I chose this quilt because it is the quilt that jump started me back into quilting after a long break.  I was pregnant and wanted something new for the new baby.  I had been hoarding the Heather Ross Goldfish fabric for 2 years in hopes that I would someday have another boy to sew for.  As soon as I found out that Rowan was a boy I got to work.

I fell in love with the log cabin style at the time.  I was log cabin crazy!  I decided that would be a great design to showcase the little fish 🙂

This quilt took me a loooong time to make.  I was a total perfectionist and planned the layout several times before finally putting it all together.

I had seen pieced backings around and really wanted to try that with this quilt.  I was very intimidated by it but I really love how it turned out.  I learned, that if you have a will to make something, you can do anything you set your mind to! This quilt really showed me that.  It really forced me out of my box and now I finally feel like I have found my quilting groove.

I love that we use this little quilt every single day.  It is his floor quilt.  The quilt he plays on.  He loves to look at all thec colors and patterns.  It makes my heart swell with pride and love knowing that I made this for him and that he enjoys it. 🙂

I truly love quilting and I am so glad that I am back in the game!

30 Responses to “Blogger’s Quilt Festival”


  1. 1 roz May 23, 2010 at 4:23 am

    what a charming quilt, and best wishes to you and your new baby

  2. 2 Caroline May 23, 2010 at 4:53 am

    This is really a beautiful quilt!

  3. 3 Erin May 23, 2010 at 5:58 am

    ooo ooo!! love it! love the colors! loooove the fabric choices! love the crosshatching! i can see why your little guy is enthralled … http://erinlebeau.blogspot.com/

  4. 4 Erin May 23, 2010 at 6:01 am

    ooo ooo! love this! love the colors! looove the fabric choices! love the crosshatching! i can see why your little guy is enthralled …….http://erinlebeau.blogspot.com/

  5. 5 Lynne May 23, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Very very cute quilt – I love the colours and shapes. And it gets properly used which is what i’s all about.

  6. 7 Crafty Mummy May 23, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I LOVE this quilt! I always have trouble finding “Boy” ideas but these fish are gorgeous. I’m making my first pieced back at the moment so nice to hear it didn’t come natural for someone else too.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. 8 Alison May 23, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Wonderful – I love Heather Ross fabrics

  8. 9 Shawn May 23, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I love the log cabin design too, it’s a great pattern to have fun with. Glad you are back into quilting, it goes with every part of my life… LOL I too believe desire is the largest ingredient in achieving your goals. Love your quilt! Also thanks for visiting me and leaving a sweet comment!
    Have a happy weekend,
    Shawn

  9. 10 AJ May 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    What a lovely quilt! So rewarding when your little ones likes what you make!

  10. 11 rafael's mum May 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Love this quilt! A perfect boys’ quilt and those goldfish are so cute fussy cut !

  11. 12 Amy May 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Thank you for your comment on my blog.
    Your quilt is adorable. All your planning definitely paid off. As you know from my quilt, I am a big fan of fussy cutting so I love how you used it on your quilt. I love to see my children enjoy things I made too. Congratulations on your quilt AND your super cute baby boy.

  12. 13 Gale May 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    This is a special quilt that your little guy will treasure for years! I love the quilting in grids and the goldfish are unbelievably cute.

  13. 15 Kelli May 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    This is so gorgeous! Great idea that you stashed away and kept the goldfish material!!!

  14. 16 Katie May 23, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Pretty quilt!! Love the fishies!

  15. 17 jennifer May 24, 2010 at 12:12 am

    i love this quilting motif. excellent work. 🙂

  16. 19 Kate May 24, 2010 at 10:50 am

    This is a wonderful quilt! Great use of the goldfish fabric.

  17. 20 Meghan May 25, 2010 at 3:59 am

    Log cabins made lovely frames for those adorable fishies! I really like how each block is bordered in the brown and sashed in white, it give it a really neat effect. And your label is precious!

  18. 21 Katie B May 25, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    This is gorgeous! I love the way you quilted it.

  19. 22 Claire May 25, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    love the heather ross fabric….goldfish are too cute!

  20. 23 Riel May 25, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on my festival quilt. I am glad I surfed over here. That is a lovely little boy quilt. I love the little diamond quilting, perfect and masculine!

  21. 25 SewCalGal May 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Delightful quilt. Love the fabric with the little Nemo fish. Very cute!

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  22. 26 Leslie May 27, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    this is so adorable. i love those fish. the log cabins are such a great frame for it. great festival quilt

  23. 27 Jo Avery May 27, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Wow! Love this one, gorgeous fabrics and colours – well done!

  24. 28 Laurel H. June 2, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    What a sweet quilt, and a wonderful story!

  25. 29 eileen June 8, 2010 at 12:09 am

    precious quilt–those fishies are tooooooooo cute!! love the story–how fun that rowan uses it all the time. the quilt at the top of my blog is one i made for my son’s son–one of the best things about it is because his momma snuggled with him under it all the time she wanted me to make her a quilt–something that i didn’t ever think would happen and now that she’s expecting another baby any day, she’s learning to sew on my older brother machine i offered her (and which was rejected) three years ago. so i believe in miracles!! quilts can do that. thanks for sharing. the fishy fabric is so fun.

  26. 30 MrsDragon July 1, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Absolutely beautiful! I’ve always loved that goldfish fabric and this is a great way to showcase it. : )


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,485 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


