Meaure Twice….Cut, Quilt & Trim Once

Ugh!  That is the best word I can think of to sum up my first experience making a pillow.  It is really my own fault.  I know better than to cut, quilt and trim before making certain that it will fit the pillow insert.  It did not fit the pillow insert.  Not even close.  Like  6 inches off people!  I was not thinking straight.

I bought these lovely down filled pillow forms to make covers for and in the end I had to make my own by cutting some muslin and stuffing it with poly fill and sewing it shut.  I was not a happy camper.

Then, when I went to bind it, something went wrong and I had to rip most of that out and start over. Then when it was done I noticed that the iron had made a big yellow mark on my embroidery cloth.  I ended up having to wash it and then use a bleach pen to get it out.

I am just glad it is done.  I learned a lot from making this and know what mistakes I will not make next time.  Maybe I should have followed a tutorial instead of just trying to wing it.  Oh well.  I think it turned out pretty cute anyhow.

I have also been working on the fabric wall and it is coming along nicely!  Just a few more hoops to go.

How is your monday going?

8 Responses to “Meaure Twice….Cut, Quilt & Trim Once”


  1. 1 MissMOE May 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    The finished product turned out well! And I love your fabric wall–what an unique idea.

  2. 2 Dana May 3, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Don’t be so hard on yourself!!! It is beautiful!

  3. 3 Amy May 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Oh Honey! I’m sorry you has such a hard time. That’s the worst! But good for you for sticking with it, because it’s gorgeous!

  4. 4 Mckinley Morgan May 4, 2010 at 2:11 am

    So very very pretty! I love everything you have done with this room!!

  5. 5 Meghan May 4, 2010 at 5:15 am

    Your pillow is gorgeous! At least you have a beautiful finished product to show for all your hard work 🙂

  6. 6 D Spack May 4, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I love your little birdie pillow! Good job!

  7. 7 tasha May 7, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    OH MY!!! I am in love with that little pillow!!! pure sweetness and the colors are perfect. Love!!

    What a beautiful room!!

  8. 8 Cinny October 9, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    What a cute pillow. What tutorial were you referring to?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,465 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


