Urban Swap – Wrapping Up

I finally finished my items for the Urban Home Decor Swap on flickr.  I really tried to incorporate colors and themes that my partner loves and I sure hope that she likes it 🙂  I am hoping to send this off today or tomorrow.  Just wrapping up a few loose ends.

pattern from Sublime Stitching’s Embroidered Effects

p.s. I would never have been able to do this embroidery project without the help of my new awesome friend Amy of Early Birdie!  She is so sweet and generous and FUNNY and awesome.  I am so glad to have “met” her.  She is one of those friends that you just instantly hit it off with and feel like you have known forever.  I heart her 🙂  Anywhoo, she is hosting an Embroidery 101 class for FREE on her blog!! Free people!  She is incredibly thorough.  She even has cute little movies to go along with each tutorial.  I had read and watched everything I could find on the stem stitch and still could not figure it out…..until she did her tutorial and then literally seconds later I was making bee-utiful stitches!  Thank you Amy!!! You are best! XOXO

Embroidery is such a great hobby!  It has so much history to it.  It is beautiful and lovely.  It is so therapeutic to do!  Soothing I tell you.  It is dirt cheap!  Seriously, compared to my other vice, fabric, so cheap!  It is easily contained.  All my supplies fit in one little box.  If you are thinking “Gee, I would really love to learn to do that!”  DO IT. NOW.  You won’t regret it! 🙂

Have a fantastic Tuesday!  I know I will, once it stops snowing outside……that’s right…..SNOWING!

7 Responses to “Urban Swap – Wrapping Up”


  1. 1 D Spack April 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    MMMMM love your quilt there and the quilting! very nice. I too, love embroidery! Thank You.

  2. 2 Jessica April 28, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Surely, you are my partner, since these items are just exactly what I requested.

    Beautiful!

  3. 3 sarah April 29, 2010 at 1:56 am

    These are both just amazing I LOVE the colors and the style.. you just ooze awesome 😉

  4. 5 Kellie April 29, 2010 at 5:24 am

    I love your blog. I’m actually planning to make some of your bibs this weekend for my little guy (even though he just turned 1 lol) Those fabrics are awesome.

  5. 6 mo April 30, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I wish I were your partner and I wasn’t even in the swap! I could not agree with you more as far as the embroidery goes. I take it everywhere- it is so portable and totally satisfies my crafty urges. Good point about the dirt cheap too!


  1. 1 How Important is Customer Service to You? Trackback on September 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,480 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


