An Attempt At Something New – Embroidery

embroidery, originally uploaded by joomoolynn.

I have always loved needlework. It is so classic and timeless and pleasing to the eye. I love the colors and textures. I finally decided that it may be a bit ridiculous if I didn’t learn this skill. It is a very handy skill to have! My new fabulous friend Amy of Early Bird Special is giving me loads of tips and is going to be teaching classes on her blog! HOORAY!

This is my first attempt. I got the pattern for free off of Flickr. All stitches are backstitch. I was told to perfect this stitch first. I have been practicing and finally feel comfortable doing it. My stitches are nowhere near perfect or consistent, but I am getting there.

It is very therapeutic working with your hands. Soothing even. Plus, it is so inexpensive! I think this whole project cost me a whopping $5!

I picked up Sublime Stitches Embroidered Effects book. It has loads of great info and fun iron on transfers. P.S.   My previously mentioned friend Amy did some of the stitching for it!  She is so talented!  Go check out her work.  Sublime Stitching is teaming up with Apronista for a fantastic giveaway of an apron and pattern! Go enter!

Now, I need to decide how to fill in all the spaces…….

7 Responses to “An Attempt At Something New – Embroidery”


  1. 1 Amy April 7, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Jaime!! Your embroidery is beautiful!! You are a natural, lady. Also, I’m embarrassed that I didn’t respond to your Flickr mail earlier, but I stitched the Fan Dancer inside the book. The cover girl was stitched by Jenny. 😉

    I’m 100% sincere when I say this is one of the prettiest 1st time embroideries I’ve ever seen. Keep it up!

    xoxo
    Amy

  2. 2 Karo April 7, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    ouh, that’s pretty.

    i’ve been stitching a lot too and just making things up as i go.
    after avoiding learning some proper technique for months, just today i thought, i really oughta learn something more fancy.

    thanks for the links. 🙂

  3. 3 allie April 7, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    it’s just lovely.

  4. 4 Meghan April 8, 2010 at 6:17 am

    That’s beautiful! Embroidery looks amazing on quilt labels, too.

  5. 5 Emily April 9, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Wow, this is so pretty. I love it. Seriously, you are a woman of endless talents!

  6. 6 Annie April 22, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Love the butterfly. Please look at comfortstitching’s blog or Flickr, she has a really nice tutorial that fills in the spacing with a backstitch, so lovely and fun. I want to say she also did one for a larger satin stitch, but I can’t find the example I had in my mind anywhere. When I see embroidery like this I want to break out the stash and get hopping. Such a pretty job!

    Comfortstitch tutorial:
    http://comfortstitching.typepad.co.uk/comfortstitching/2010/01/filling-with-backstitch-an-embroiderers-guide.html


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,464 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


