She went and got herself hitched

My only sister got married last week and we flew in to be with her on her special day.  It was so much fun to see our families!  I made them a quilt to snuggle underneath 🙂  I will say that this quilt gave me SO much trouble!  I had taped and basted most of it on my floor and ran out of pins (5 hours into it) and pulled it up so it wouldn’t get walked on.  I then noticed that I had basted the backing upside down!  Grrrr!  I decided to take it to a long arm quilter since it was such a pain to do the first time around.  It looked great all quilted and then I went to put the binding on.  I forget how sturdy my Singer is for the job.  I had to borrow a machine and it had trouble going through the layers and so the stitches were all sorts of wonky.  Bummer.  Then I washed it.  I have never had this happen to me before.  The label bled!  There is nothing you can do at that point.  The pens I use are not supposed to bleed.  It must be the water temp. or something.  They still loved it, that I am glad of.  I still love it, if I don’t look too closely 😉  I bought the Arcadia fabric with my sister in mind, I had quite the time trying to track it down.  So worth it!  It is so gorgeous in real life.

Congrats you two, I love you! 🙂

fabrics used were

Arcadia by Moda charm packs (2)

Amy Butler Full Moon Dots in lime and linen

Kona Muslin in white

Warm and Natural batting

Gutterman thread 100% cotton

Stippled by Peggy Cameron

9 Responses to “She went and got herself hitched”


  1. 1 Cara February 10, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    What a beautiful bride and wedding dress! So timeless looking.

    And wonderful quilt. You did a great job.

  2. 2 Emily February 10, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Can I get married again and pretend to be your sister so I can have one like it? It is gorgeous.

  3. 3 amanda February 12, 2010 at 2:01 am

    What a gorgeous quilt, a gorgeous dress, and a gorgeous bride!!

  4. 4 shelia February 17, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    How big did this quilt end up being? It is so gorgeous. (And so is your sister…beautiful bride. 🙂

  5. 6 Susi February 28, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    What a gorgeous wedding gift! Your sister was a pretty bride and so lucky to have a sister like you.

  6. 8 Jennifer March 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    such a beautiful bride!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,426 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


