Doll Quilt

I made a doll quilt for Little Man.  He liked the Ikea fabrics.  I made it 21″x22″.  I used Warm And Natural batting and quilting in vertical lines 1/2″ apart.  I also for the first time hand stitched the binding in the back!  It has been something I was intimidated by for years and finally found a stitch that works for me.  I used a ladder stitch and it was a breeze!  I found this tutorial and these ones on youtube (part 1) (part 2) (part 3) on how to bind and it is amazing!  I always hated the binding but with this method it is so easy!

dollquilt1

dollquilt2

3 Responses to “Doll Quilt”


  1. 1 jtlulumom September 15, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Ah! Jamie! I absolutely love that, and those colors! Fantastic!

  2. 2 pamela September 23, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I have been considering using IKEA fabrics for a few of my backs and borders what do you think? Did you like it, was it just as easy to use as quiling fabric?

    • 3 sewshesews September 23, 2009 at 9:10 pm

      Hi Pamela!
      I love the fabrics from Ikea! I think the quality is great, feels and looks the same. Washes up great. The only thing that is lesser quality for quilting there is their sheets, I have still used them and they are fine. I say go for it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,489 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


