I think I am ready

I have been contemplating my next quilt for quite some time.  It has been a year, almost to the day.  In the past I have avoided talking about it as it was too painful.  It is still painful but I feel like I am ready to move forward.  Last july we lost a sweet baby at 12 weeks.  It has been a rough year.  There have been a lot of ups and a lot of downs.  There has been a lot of healing as well.  When it happened I wanted to make something in memory but I couldn’t, I wasn’t ready to face that.  Now that it has been a year and is the anniversary I have been thinking about it a lot.  I feel ready.  I have started thinking about what kind of quilt I would want to make.  I want something that was happy feeling to remember how it was for the short time we had that baby.  I want something summery and fresh to always remember the time of year it was and the feelings we were having at that time.  I searched through my fabric stash and only one thing really fit and that was my two prints of lime Flea Market Fancy prints.  I knew it had been discontinued but didn’t think it would be too hard to gather up most of the line.  I started swapping and buying little bits here and there.  I have been able to gather quite a bit, but a lot of the fabrics I can’t afford or are seemingly unattainable.  I don’t know if anyone reads my blog but if you do and you know of where I might be able to get some of this fabric, please let me know 🙂  Leave it to me to make something like this so difficult, I cannot believe this fabric and the rush to get it from so many people!  I guess I can, it is so beautiful!  I took a picture of what I have, it makes me happy just looking at those colors 🙂

FMF

I know that I want to make it baby sized.  I am thinking about patterns.  I am always drawn to the coin quilts.  I saw a pattern that I just fell in love with the other day.  You can find it here

I am going to have to think about it.  I am glad to be at this point and finally planning it out.  I feels freeing.

7 Responses to “I think I am ready”


  1. 1 metrosupialdesigns July 28, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I am so sorry. I can’t even imagine.

    Making a quilt might be very healing too. I have some red leaves but am in NM till Thursday. EM me about the pez if you have any left.

    Do you want any Ava in black or AH abacus? They have it at the shop here.

  2. 2 eliza July 29, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Hello love,
    I’m officially going to look around London for Flea Market Fancy prints next week…i’ll let you know what i find out!!
    xxx

  3. 3 Rafael's mum August 2, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Good heavens Jaime, it is so hard with something like that… Well, you allready have the blues and that is all I can find you (and believe me, I have looked!) but if you need any more of that, just let me know. I have some for myself that I would not be prepared to swap otherwise you are most welcome to.

  4. 4 Adrienne August 31, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    My heart cries for you. As a mother with multiple losses myself, I cannot find the words that express the hope and sympathy I have for you. It took me 3.5 years (and 2 live births) to finish the quilt I started while pregnant with my daughter who was stillborn. You will recover at your own pace and I am glad that this project is helping you through your grief. Good luck!

  5. 5 Tiffany August 31, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    The quilt will be beautiful no matter what pattern you pick!


  1. 1 Pay It Forward – A Flea Market Fancy Giveaway « Sew She Sews's Trackback on September 8, 2009 at 11:11 pm
  2. 2 FMF Quilt Top « Sew She Sews's Trackback on March 14, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,426 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Ten years with this sweet thing. Love her so much. Happy birthday baby girl. She just wanted clothes and shoes for gifts......:sob: #teenageralready

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


