Hooray one down!

I finally finished the fishy quilt late last night.  I washed and dried it this afternoon and it is just lovely.  So soft and crinkly….sigh.  I cannot wait to wrap the baby up in this!  I quilted in grids.  It worked out really well.  I used painters tape for the initial lines and then used my spacer on my walking foot to do the rest.  I think next time I will use a chalk wheel to mark the first line since it was a little difficult to see clearly and sometimes I sewed on top of  the tape and that was a pain in the caboose to get out from under the stitches.

I really love how the backing turned out even if it is a little crooked.  The label washed up great and I love that I can use my own handwriting in the quilt.  I like incorporating it into the backing like that. Then there is no chance that it can later be removed.  I think it is really important to document your work.  I love going antique shopping and being able to find out where things came from or who made them.  I hope that someday my quilts can tell a story of who I was and what my life was like.

I chose Amy Butler Lotus moon dots in slate to bind the quilt with.  I think it matches so well.  I decided to put the binding on totally with my machine.  I read that baby quilts are going to get much more abuse than other quilts and need a sturdier binding.  I don’t like the look as much but I still think it is adorable.  All in all, I am happy and satisfied with how it turned out.  Up next, starting the baby girl quilt and my coin quilt!

fishyquilt3

fishyquilt5

fishyquilt1

fishyquilt2

1 Response to “Hooray one down!”


  1. 1 eliza July 24, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Jaime! i just read through this and i can’t believe how clever you are! you found a private fabric swapping group, and you know all sorts of sewing lingo. geez. not to mention your kick ass quilts. you ROCK. X


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,480 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


