Triangles up the wahzoo

My friend Amber had the brilliant idea to start a modern quilting bee with some local girls here in Portland.  She asked if I wanted to join and I immediately said, YES!  The name of the bee is PDX Bee.  Amber started us out this month.  She is making a solids quilt with all triangles.  We were just asked to make an 18 1/2″ square and use the fabrics she gave us.  She also requested the flying geese type of triangle with all of them facing up.  I loved making this block!  I used Faith’s flying geese paper piecing template for the little ones and the larger one from Quilter’s Cache.  

I decided to use white space and liked the idea of descending triangles with one large one at the top.  I am starting to like paper piecing a lot!  It’s really fun to learn a new skill.

8384311529_f923036feb_o

 

Fabrics are all Kona by Robert Kaufman.  I can’t wait to see all the other blocks and how it comes together!  My month is next month and I am ready to roll!  So excited!

4 Responses to “Triangles up the wahzoo”


  1. 1 Meg January 23, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Looks great! I really like this colors.

  2. 2 Anna January 23, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    I love it!! Great use of negative space.

  3. 3 wendy February 1, 2013 at 11:54 am

    that is a fab block, love it!

  4. 4 Tina Marie February 14, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    I love this!!! I got a mini ruler set that is used to make flying geese for Christmas. This is something even I could make.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,006 other followers

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Does it get much more gorgeous than this? I submit that it does not. #columbiagorge #columbiariver #oregon #washington #PNW

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,006 other followers

