The things you find

When looking for something entirely different!  I made this shawl in January right after I learned how to knit.  I didn’t love it and didn’t know how/dare to block it.  I packed it away in a bin with some other knitted things and I was rummaging around yesterday trying to find something and came across it.  I decided to block it right then and there.  It was big before and it grew a lot.  It is seriously large and it is GORGEOUS!  The yarn and the pattern, Mmmmm.

The pattern is called Nairi (on Ravelry) and the yarn is Malabrigo Rios in the colorway Sunset.  Malabrigo is one of my favorite yarns.  Especially the Rios.  Not only is it superwash, it is the softest merino I have ever felt.  So squishy too.

It was a beast to block.  In hindsight I think I would have used my blocking wires for the entire thing, even the points….duh.  I used T-pins instead on the points.  So many points.  Ridiculous.  I am really glad that I bought an extra pack of the foam interlocking mats for blocking from Harbor Freight and I am ticked at myself for not buying another package or two of the T-pins since I ran out and had to use regular steel pins.

I

I do love it so.  The color is just amazing.  The softness, squishiness and airiness even though it is worsted weight.  This is going to get worn a whole bunch.  Details on my Ravelry page.

Happy Thursday! :)

 

 

2 Responses to “The things you find”


  1. 1 Sticks and Pins September 28, 2012 at 3:10 am

    I love it and that’s my colour. I’ll have to look for that pattern on Ravelry.

  2. 2 Patricia September 28, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Just Gorgeous!! Love the colors!! Wish I could knit.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,769 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Oh.my.glob. This is awesome! I don't even know what some if these things are! #hoodriverorganic #csa #produce #organic #whole30 #paleo #natureistheshit

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,769 other followers

