Busy fingers

I have been keeping busy lately.  Been sewing a lot (clothes for Violet) and knitting a lot more.  I am craving fall and knitting gets me right in the mood.  I finally finished my Streusel shawl and blocked it.  Yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy in Blue Lagoon colorway.  I wish I loved this yarn more.  It is a lot more scratchy than others I have used despite it also being Merino.  I expected it to soften after soaking but it feels about the same.  The color is stunning though.  I used blocking wires for the first time….SOLD.  They make blocking a breeze.  Can’t believe I waited this long to get them.

 

I am also working on a few baby blankets. This one is from the Purl Bee and is called Super Easy Baby Blanket. Yarn is all Madeline Tosh Vintage.  Colors are Graphite, Winter Wheat, Terrarium, Celedon, Antler, Golden Hickory and Smokestack.  I love this yarn.  So soft.  I was bummed that two of the skeins had knots in them.  I have never had that happen with Tosh before, so I am hoping it was a fluke.

 

The other blanket I am working on is the Chalice Baby Blanket.  I am using up the rest of my Malabrigo Rios in Teal Feather.  I absolutely love Rios.  It is the softest, squishiest yarn ever.  This blanket is going super fast compared to the other.

In happy thrifting news, we found a great record player on Craigslist and also scored in the vinyl department at the thrifts and have been enjoying listening to them non stop.  I even found the same Simon and Garfunkel record that my parents had when I was growing up.  Love.  We also scored this darling dresser/changing table for free and are in the process of sanding and repainting.

You know I am so sad that the daisy liner in the drawers has to go.  So adorable.

So, that’s about it.  Kids are in school making the days run a lot more smoothly.  The two little ones and I are finding a good routine and exploring too.  Things are pretty good :)

Happy Tuesday.

 

 

2 Responses to “Busy fingers”


  1. 1 Patty September 18, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Love that dresser and the scarf is gorgeous!

  2. 2 Michele O'Farrell September 18, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    The scarf is beautiful…well done! The ladies in our fortnightly quilt group have made some of the patchwork bibs from one of your tutorials. Thanks for sharing the pattern. Your craft news and family are awesome.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,779 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Custom #socksack for @cels78 #knit #knitting #knitstagram #knittingbag #projectbag #handmade #sew #paintbynumber #birds

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,779 other followers

