I wiped the dust off of my machine

Image

and finally sewed something!  I took a trip to Joann fabrics the other day and saw that they were carrying cloth diapering supplies and since I had wanted to give making my own a shot, I bought some stuff and went for it!

Image

It was hard!  I used the Sprout Snap free template for a one size diaper.  The stacking doll fabric is cotton and I used a hidden layer of PUL and the inside is microfleece with a bamboo soaker sewn in.  Since the pattern comes with no instructions I just had to wing it.  I messed up on a few things like the socket portion of snaps that should be applied AFTER the diaper is complete so that they go through all the layers and can actually snap into the sockets applied before sewing the diaper together.  Also, topstitching while stretching elastic is massively hard to do.  It didn’t end up pretty.

Image

As you can see, the pattern didn’t work out in my favor.  I didn’t think about the fact that once you wrap the diaper around the baby, whatever is one their butt will be upside down.  In hindsight, if you have a directional fabric you will need to decide where you want it right side up and then piece it together with another fabric or flip one end so that you have both  going the correct way once it is done.

Image

Then I decided to try a fitted diaper with some snap in soakers.  This one went a lot better but was still really difficult to wrestle with the elastic.  The outer and inner fabric were used from a swaddle blanket that is now too small for her.

Image

I added a layer of microfleece to the inside and also a bamboo soaker.  I then added two snap in liners which can be separated and removed.

Image

I tried this one out last night and despite all the layers, she still soaked through it.  I think bamboo velour would have been a better choice for the inner instead of cotton jersey.  

This was fun to try something new, but holy cow are diapers a lot of work!  So much thought goes into what makes the perfect diaper and there are so many fabrics out there to choose from.  It really is a science and one that I am totally illiterate at.  So, I think I will leave this to the professionals.  I like buying cute diapers and having them delivered at my doorstep much better ;)

Check out hyena cart for some seriously cute hand made WAHM diapers.  Happy Monday!

12 Responses to “I wiped the dust off of my machine”


  1. 1 notwhereithought April 9, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Once upon a time I made two diapers and gave up. There’s a reason why WAHM diapers are worth the price they charge! Between the tedious work of elastic and snaps and the importance of the right fabrics…I decided to leave it to the pros. :) Your diapers are super cute.

    • 2 sewshesews April 10, 2012 at 3:36 am

      Hear hear! I totally agree, whatever they charge is totally worth it. They took me hours to make and they are not nearly as cute and functional as those wonderful mamas make them. I will gladly support their diaper making endeavors ;)

  2. 3 mel April 9, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    OMIGOSH that stacking doll fabric is fantastic!! Where oh where did you find it? I must confess, the sight of cloth diapers makes my mama nose start to crinkle… but you make them look so cute! ;o)
    Happy easter!
    Mel ;o)
    needle and nest

    • 4 sewshesews April 10, 2012 at 3:34 am

      Thanks Mel! :) I found the fabric at Joann Fabrics, do you have that in Canada? If not, I will totally snag you some! I think I will email you tomorrow. I was the last person on the planet I thought would ever cloth diaper, but I gave it a shot for cost alone and it has not been bad at all! The only con is the time it takes to do all the laundry, but not too terrible.

      • 5 mel April 10, 2012 at 5:04 pm

        Hmmm no Joanns that I know of here… no worries tho! I’ve done cloth before too – I’m just a real mess at it, and keep going the lazy route of disposable.. I know, I’m terrible! ;oP

  3. 6 OliversForest April 10, 2012 at 1:03 am

    well they look great! ellie is just the cutest thing around! she makes the cutest faces!

  4. 8 claudia April 10, 2012 at 10:31 am

    How how cute is that butt! Well done on the fabric choice and workmanship……divine :)

  5. 9 Diane Schafer May 8, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Good for you for trying. I have a pattern somewhere in all of the baby sewing. I have never tried but your look adorable. Love following you!

  6. 10 inesusan May 29, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    Wow they are soo cute <3

  7. 12 Patrick June 10, 2012 at 3:31 am

    I also love the nesting dolls fabric. Could you possibly pass along the name, as I can’t seem to find it under “Nesting Dolls” or “Stacking Dolls” on the Joann’s website? I would run out to the store and get some tomorrow, but we don’t have them in NYC, so I am solely dependent on online fabric shopping! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,858 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Yep. This happened. Holy balls.

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,858 other followers

