Still just knitting……

So, nothing has changed in the creative department.  I still only want to knit.  I am learning lots.  I am learning patience mostly.  Knitting takes MUCH longer than sewing and sewing mistakes are easier to spot and fix imo.  I started this hat (my first) yesterday morning and finished it this morning!  I love almost instant gratification.  I am glad to say the the double pointed needles were not as scary as I had made them out to be in my head.  The pattern was excellent.  I never felt lost once.

The pattern is called Autumn Leaves and the yarn is some I bought at the Hearts & Crafts Show from The Fuzzy Bunny.  It is rambouillet wool and it is so soft!  I love the look of hand spun yarn!  I like the variation.

Here is my project page.

The kids are out of school for the week but we have been trapped indoors from snow and strept throat.  Sigh.  Happy Friday!

6 Responses to “Still just knitting……”


  1. 1 knottygnome February 24, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    that is a lovely hat and it looks very soft. i’m impressed that you made the whole thing on dpns. i think i would’ve gone crazy.

    • 2 sewshesews February 24, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      Thank you! I didn’t make the whole thing on dpn’s! That would be crazy :) I made most of it on a circular needle and then moved to the dpn’s when it got too small.

  2. 3 April Fehrman February 25, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Looks great – I love the colors! To help with the holes when you’re working with the dpns, give the yarn a little extra tug as you knit the first stitch on the new needle. Hope that helps!

  3. 5 Mary Ann B March 6, 2012 at 12:50 am

    I have only started knitting about a month ago when seeing another blogger’s first knitting project! I LOVE IT and can understand why you are just knitting right now! Love the softness of your wool with that hat pattern! I’ve also joined Ravelry, very dangerous place, too many ideas to put in your ‘favorites’, let alone all the yarn shops you can link to. I stopped sewing for 15 years, so totally understand the ‘pause’…
    happy knitting!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,860 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Hand job happy hour. In a bar. Legit. Knitting, binding and embroidery. Miss you @bettycrockerass @violetcraft @agypsisoul

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,860 other followers

