Mara

I have been knitting a lot these days and rarely sewing unless I have to.  I go through spurts of not wanting to sew at all.  Does anyone else?  Then the desire always seems to come back with a vengeance only to wane again a while later.  I am really enjoying learning to knit.  I have finished a few projects and just finished my first shawl.  The pattern is called Mara and it is by Madeline Tosh.  The yarn is also by MadelineTosh DK in Nebula.  It is so beautiful!  I cannot believe I made it!  I wore it all day yesterday and I was so cozy warm.  Now I am on a shawl binge.  I really want to learn lace.  My Ravelry queue is full of things I want to try.  You can find my Mara project here.

Happy Sunday! :)

 

6 Responses to “Mara”


  1. 1 Maureen February 13, 2012 at 1:21 am

    Beautiful work. My favorite color.

  2. 2 Belinda February 13, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Wow, that’s just beautiful!

  3. 3 Mary Ann B February 13, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    I was away from sewing for 15 years so I totally understand not wanting to sew. I recently picked up knitting (like three weeks ago) after seeing a cowl scarf on another blog. So now I am rotating thru knitting and sewing, knitting is winning out more lately! I think it’s peaceful, just sitting to the quiet rhythm of the needles, and relaxing. Especially during the winter when one just wants to cuddle up under a blanket on the couch and watch tv. Love the shawl… not quite ready to tackle one of those yet!

  4. 4 Patty February 15, 2012 at 5:15 am

    I would knit all day if I was able to create something that beautiful!! WOW!!!!

  5. 5 Emily February 20, 2012 at 4:56 am

    GORGEOUS!! I love it. You, my friend, are one of the most talented people I know. Love and admire you so much!

    xoxo

  6. 6 Misty March 4, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Wow, beautiful! Mara is in my queue, too. I have the same thing as you–sometimes I am super eager to sew or quilt and other times, I have little or no interest and just want to knit. I think this is pretty normal and there is just something so soothing and cozy about knitting that I don’t seem to get when sitting at the sewing machine. Lace is fun, you will like it! Just be sure to use stitch markers to keep track of pattern repeats. :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,988 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

Now that they have been gifted, a layette set for my sister in law @kimbershmy. Yarn by #republicofwool . #knitting #knitting #knitstagram #knittersofinstagram #layette #bib #hat #longies #boots #teether

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,988 other followers

