DIY Labels

I wanted to share my new adventure in label making!  I decided to make these because I wanted something hand made looking to place inside of the baby boots I have been making lately.  I needed something thin to go inside and had a hard time finding anything online.  I stumbled across a blog post (I cannot remember who’s) that said that twill ribbon and printable transfer paper made wonderful labels.  I bought the printer paper (had to order special online since I have a laser printer and not an inkjet) and some twill and gave it a go last night.

It took some tweaking, like constantly moving the iron and using the point of it to dig into the paper to get them to transfer really well.  Now I have the rhythm down and I really love how they turned out.  It is such an inexpensive way (I was able to get dozens of labels out of one sheet of paper) to add that finishing touch to your handmade goods.  I used fray check after applying the ink on the ends of the labels to prevent unraveling.

Want to make these too?  Start with a great font (needs to be commercial friendly if you are selling your goods) from somewhere like Dafont.  You will need twill ribbon, mine is 1/2″ and I bought it at Joann fabrics in the ribbon and trim section.  You will also need heat transfer paper that is compatible with your type of printer.  I had to buy online but if you own an inkjet printer chances are that your local craft shop will have some in stock.  When printing make sure to change paper type to transparency or thick paper and remove all other paper from the printer drawer to ensure proper feed.

Cut as closely as you can around the words or picture and then apply using heat appropriate for the fabric you are applying to.  Twill is cotton so I used high heat.  Also be sure to heat set (place a piece of blank paper over the ribbon and apply iron heat for about 20 seconds) after applying the ink if the item being labeled will ever be washed.

Happy Saturday! :)

3 Responses to “DIY Labels”


  1. 1 Theresa November 5, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    What an awesome tip~ Thank you!!

  2. 2 Erin Keller November 13, 2011 at 4:52 am

    Thanks so much for the tip! I’ve been thinking about buying labels from someone else, but now I think I’ll try this first!

  3. 3 Roxanne Byerly November 3, 2012 at 2:48 am

    THank you sooooo much for posting. I too have a laser printer and I actually gave up on the idea of ever being able to find heat transfer printer paper.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,861 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

#rivendellbicycleworks #rivendellbicycle #cheviot #bike #newbikeday

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,861 other followers

