All Framed Up And Ready To Display – How to prepare your embroidery for hanging



Strawberry Framed, originally uploaded by joomoolynn.

I made this as a swap with a nice gal and I finished the final touches today like painting and varnishing the frame and mounting the embroidery inside.

I thought I would share what I have done and works really well.

When I am mounting my embroidery in the hoops I line the back with muslin. This helps the trails along the back and knots to be hidden and not show up.

I seal the wood of the frame and then paint the top hoop it using acrylic paint. then I varnish over the entire thing to seal it all in and protect the wood.

I stretch the fabric (both the muslin and embroidered cloth together) into the hoop. Tighten and smooth out any puckers.

Using Elmer’s glue or any water based school glue, draw a ring around the edge of the back of the hoop and pull the muslin first and iron it down, sealing it to the wood. Do the same with the embroidered cloth.

Trim the fabrics to about 1″.

Using tacky glue or another water based stronger glue draw a ring on the inner lip of the hoop and push the fabric down adhering it to the sides of the hoop.

Now it is ready to hang!

3 Responses to “All Framed Up And Ready To Display – How to prepare your embroidery for hanging”


  1. 1 Mary Carole Dolce June 11, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Oh my goodness…THAT is way cute! Very nice directions for the hoop. I’m going to have to try that…thanks!

  2. 2 Amy June 11, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Great tips on framing, Jaime! You really are a natural with embroidery. I love that you paint the hoops different colors. It adds SO much to the final piece! I love your style, lady.

    xo,
    Amy

  3. 3 jenn June 15, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    any chance we can see a pic of the back? it’s so hard to find a good tutorial for embroidery framing… but yr instructions sound perfect!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,770 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

So.much.energy

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,770 other followers

