Enclosed Hem Tutorial

Hi there! :)  Spring break in winding down and I am sad that the kids have to go back to school next week.  We have had so much fun!

I wanted to do a tutorial on an enclosed hem today.  This hem is so wonderful when you don’t own a serger.  It cleanly finishes off a piece of clothing and when paired with french seams (which is another type of enclosed seam), it looks awesome!  I use this type of hem of all of the skirts and dresses I make for my daughter.  Here is and example of what I am talking about

I like to add the contrasting band of fabric to my clothing.  It makes for a more interesting piece and allows for the enclosed hem.  If you are only going to use 1 piece of fabric, this way of finishing off the piece won’t work.  You would have to turn the fabric twice and hem.  Let’s begin! :)

This completely encloses the raw edges on the bottom of the piece of clothing.  Here are a few more examples

Hope this helps with the raw edge issue when you don’t own a serger :)  Please ask any questions if you have any, and if you use this tutorial to make something, upload it to the flickr group so we can all oooh and ahhh over it! ;)

Happy Sewing!

6 Responses to “Enclosed Hem Tutorial”


  1. 1 The Sleepy Time Gal April 27, 2010 at 2:26 am

    i love the fabric you choose! great tutorial.

  2. 2 Julie February 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Love the dress. Thanks for the enclosed hem advice. Also, I love your embroidery. Can you recommend a good site for embroidery tips for beginners? Also, do you sell the dress pattern?

    Thanks!
    Julie

  3. 4 jen December 7, 2011 at 5:32 am

    Wow! Thanks! Now I need to find a fabric that will work with a shin, slippery yellow I wanted to use eyelet at the bottom of the dress though. Could that still work?

  4. 6 Jennifer Stone May 15, 2013 at 4:23 am

    I LOVE this dress! Do you have a tutorial as to how to make it?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,895 other followers

Tweets

My Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Instagram

View My Gallery

My Flickr

File this under the most ridonkulous thing I have ever seen. #clowncar #bmw #extremesmartcar

More Photos

do.GOOD stitches charity bee

Portland Modern Quilting Guild

The Vintage Sheet Blog

I Love Vintage Crafts

DanielleThompson

Small Style


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,895 other followers

